To have a separate room or not for homeschool…seems to be a hot topic in some circles. We have divided a room into part my craft room and the other is for homeschool. We do some things in there and the kids are at their desks and other things we do on the floor, the couch or outside if we feel like it. πŸ™‚ Either way, I wanted a big 4×8 white board and they were $300 at a few online places even with the free shipping, so what is a thrifty gal to do..we already have a small board (1 side white board, other side chalk in easel format) but I wanted something bigger. I heard folks talk about making a board out of tile board, what in tarnation is that I asked, so I did what I always do when I really don’t have the mental capacity to figure something out, I called my dad. You have to understand my dad is retired and spends his time soaking up information on all kinds of topics, yet he doesn’t talk much until you hit on a topic that he likes and then you are in big trouble…we tease him that he is either constipated or has diarrhea in the chatting department…gross but true. πŸ˜‰

Anyhoo, he walks around Lowe’s on a weekly basis so I figured that he had more free time on his hands than myself and he likes missions. He found the stuff and it is sometimes called tile, sometimes panel, sometimes showerboard but here is a pic of the tag at Lowe’s..

what to buy

You also need to buy a piece of plywood, I figured everyone knew what that looked like. It is imperative to get some of this stuff…for the crafty, think of a hot glue gun in cold form. πŸ™‚

liquid nails

Bring your goodies home and hand camera to a little girl on a stool so she can take pics of all the action. First step, screw the plywood to your wall (of course, after you have found the studs). There’s a stud in the picture, he’s only 3 though… πŸ˜€

putting up board

Next, make sure you have a few extra hands

takes a few people

Once the board is securely screwed to your wall, apply the adhesive (technical term for glue)

glue art

While I was busy making squiggly lines, my dad pre-drilled the board – very important. Keep your holes near the edge and 3 on each side is good, here is one close-up

pre-drill

Then put the board up and yes the walls are white and the board is white, I am checking your eye sight. πŸ™‚ I think we will frame the board with trim but that isn’t too high on the priority list right now. That’s mom holding up the board.

putting it up

Voila, your own white board for less than $25 buckaroos (we already had screws). If you are concerned with ghosting, I have checked a few sites (amazing how many people make these things) and it seems that nail polish, ammonia and water, and Mr. Clean’s magic erasers work wonders.

You are hereby charged to go forth and make white boards because the $275 saved can be used for much important stuff like fabric, trim…oh, this is about homeschooling, I meant books, educational supplies, etc. πŸ˜‰